Rugby World Cup winner Springboks tragically died in car crash: PlanetRugby

Rugby World Cup winner Springboks tragically died in car crash: PlanetRugby

Rugby World Cup-winning Springboks lock Hannes Strydom has tragically died in a car crash in Mpumalanga.

The 58-year-old was a member of the 1995 Springbok side that won the World Cup on home soil.

He represented South Africa 21 times and started the 1995 final against New Zealand, where Cobus Vesey came on at second row, helping the Boks defeat the All Blacks 15-12 at Ellis Park.

Springbok lock pass

Fizz confirmed the death of his former teammate News24 On Monday morning.

β€œYes, it is (Strydom’s death),” Veazey told the publication.

“At this point the information is very vague, but I know it happened somewhere in Mpumalanga. He and another person were in a vehicle that collided with a taxi. That’s what we know at this point.”

said Nicoli, Strydom’s wife Network24 She added that the accident occurred on the N4 highway before Emalahleni towards Pretoria, adding that she had no further information about the circumstances of the accident.

The Lions, for whom Strydom played more than 100 times between 1993 and 2003, paid tribute to him on social media.

“It is with great sadness that we hear of the passing of Lions and Springbok legend Hannes Strydom. Our thoughts and prayers are with his family and friends during this time. May his soul rest in peace,” their post on X, formerly Twitter, read.

Strydom began his career in the Eastern Province in 1986 before moving to Northern Transvaal – now the Bulls – two years later.

He began his career at provincial level in 1986, before moving to Northern Transvaal – now Bulls – two years later. However, he played the bulk of his club rugby with the Transvaal – now the Golden Lions – where he made 115 appearances between 1993 and 2000 before retiring. He also played Super Rugby for the Cats in the late 1990s.

Strydom also worked as a pharmacist in Pretoria.

Strydom is the fifth member of the 1995 World Cup squad to die, after Robin Kruger (2010), Joost van der Westhuizen (2017), Chester Williams (2019) and James Small (2019). The head coach in 1995, Ketch Christie, also died in 1998.

Read more: The former Blitzboks coach picks his dream team from the World Cup-winning Springboks

(tags for translation)Bulls

You may also like...

Leave a Reply