Best Motorcycle Accident Lawyer in Memphis, Tennessee 2023 – Forbes Advisor

Best Motorcycle Accident Lawyer in Memphis, Tennessee 2023 – Forbes Advisor

Tennessee motorcyclists are required to follow specific laws to ensure their safety and the safety of other motorists on Memphis roads.

Motorcycle licence

In Tennessee, individuals age 16 or older need a Class M license to operate a motorcycle. Obtaining this license requires passing a comprehensive exam that includes a vision check, a knowledge test, and a course ability test. People who are 15 years old also need a special permit, after meeting the basic requirements for a motorcycle licence.

Motorcycle insurance

All riders in Tennessee must maintain a valid auto insurance policy with the following minimum coverage limits:

– $25,000 to cover bodily injuries per person
– $50,000 to cover total bodily injury per accident
– $25,000 for property damage per incident

This coverage pays for damages to others if you are responsible for an accident, up to policy limits. We recommend purchasing higher coverage limits to avoid large out-of-pocket expenses as you will be responsible for covering the excess amount.

Also consider purchasing insurance policies that cover your damages in the event of an accident. For example:

  • Comprehensive coverage can help with repairs if your motorcycle is damaged due to natural disasters or incidents such as theft or fire.
  • Collision coverage can help cover the costs of repairing your bike after most types of collisions, regardless of fault.
  • Medical payment coverage can cover your medical expenses, regardless of fault – this type of coverage can be vital given the severe and expensive nature of motorcycle injuries.

We also recommend exploring uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, which provides protection if you are involved in a collision with another motorist who either lacks insurance or does not carry enough insurance to adequately cover your losses.

Motorcycle helmet law

Motorcyclists are at greater risk of sustaining traumatic brain injuries in the event of an accident. Therefore, the state requires all riders and passengers to wear approved helmets. However, the following are exceptions to this rule:

  • A person 18 years of age or older, riding in a motorcade at a speed not exceeding 30 miles per hour; or
  • A person 21 years of age or older who leads a funeral procession or participates in a memorial ride under a police escort or body escort is exempt from the helmet requirement, provided he or she is traveling at less than 30 miles per hour and the distance does not exceed 50 miles.

Motorcycle headlight law

Passengers must have their headlights on at all times, regardless of the time of day. A motorcycle can have up to two headlights, and adjustment of the headlights is permitted.

Special equipment

Riders and passengers must wear safety glasses or a helmet with a face shield when operating or riding a motorcycle unless the vehicle is equipped with a windshield. It must also have at least one red taillight and at least one red stop light.

Furthermore, motorcycles in Tennessee must have a continuously running muffler to prevent excessive noise and avoid emitting nuisance smoke. The use of straight pipe exhausts is prohibited in the state to help reduce noise pollution.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *